James Dyson Award

Safetybelt

In order to meet today's needs in the automobile, we have reconsidered the safety belt and developed it from scratch. The entire mechanism locates in the lock on the webbing. The seat is only a form-locking integrated socket pin. Thanks to the rotatable magnet in the lock, it automatically exits as soon as the belt approaches. This allows one-handed and blind operation. The gentle click is confirmed with a noticeable and audible feedback. The positive connection bears a tensile load of up to 1.5 tonnes, which is a normal burden in an accident. The loosening of the belt is also simple, ergonomic and done with just one hand. If the two red buttons are pressed simultaneously, the clamps in the lock open, the magnet turns 180 degrees and pushes the bolt back into the seat.

safetybelt

The three-point belt has been in use for over 50 years. Whether in the Rolls Royce or the Fiat - everywhere he looks the same. Since its introduction, the principle has not changed. It is neither ergonomic nor barrier-free to operate. The tongue is small and poorly palpable. The counterpart is mostly hidden and hitting the slot proves to be true art. Also, the release is only cumbersome and possible with two hands. In addition, the existing seat belt is a danger to children because they can easily solve it by pressing the button. These are reasons enough to revolutionize the safety belt after 50 years.

safetybelt

We analyzed the entire safety system in the automobile and fundamentally rethought it. Using an actual and an ideal scenario of use, we were able to create a detailed requirement list, from which three approaches were conceived. Based on a list of criteria, the optimal solution emerged, which we finally developed in detail. After countless formal studies, the design of the mechanism proved to be a crucial element in designing the outer shape. Consequently, we worked two lanes, from outside and inside each other until we reached the optimal interaction. Our idea worked on the computer model and finally the printed prototype confirmed our solution approach. Let us save life - your life!

safetybelt safetybelt safetybelt safetybelt safetybelt
safetybelt
safetybelt
safetybelt
Project
Year
2013
Task
Idea, Conception, Design, Visualisation, Animation
Article
Article
Article
Article
Article
Article

Safety Belt

The new Safety Belt

Function
Um den heutigen Bedürfnissen im Automobil gerecht zu werden, haben wir den Sicherheitsgurt überdacht und von Grund auf neu entwickelt. Die gesamte Mechanik lokalisiert sich im Schloss am Gurtband. Im Sitz befindet sich lediglich ein formschlüssig integrierter Steckbolzen. Dank dem drehbaren Magnet im Schloss fährt dieser automatisch aus, sobald sich der Gurt nähert. Dadurch wird ein einhändiges und blindes Bedienen ermöglicht. Das sanfte Einrasten wird mit einer spür- und hörbaren Rückmeldung bestätigt. Die formschlüssige Verbindung erträgt eine Zugbelastung von bis zu 1,5 Tonnen, was bei einem Unfall eine übliche Belastung ist. Das Lösen des Gurtes ist ebenfalls einfach, ergonomisch und erfolgt mit nur einer Hand. Werden die beiden roten Knöpfe gleichzeitig gedrückt, öffnen sich die Klemmen im Schloss, das Magnet dreht sich um 180 Grad und stosst den Bolzen zurück in den Sitz.

safetybelt

Inspiration
Der Dreipunktegurt ist bereits seit über 50 Jahren im Einsatz. Ob im Rolls Royce oder im Fiat – überall sieht er gleich aus. Seit seiner Einführung hat sich am Prinzip nichts geändert. Er ist weder ergonomisch noch barrierenfrei bedienbar. Die Steckzunge ist klein und schlecht greifbar. Das Gegenstück ist meist versteckt und den Schlitz zu treffen, erweist sich als wahre Kunst. Auch das Lösen ist nur umständlich und mit zwei Händen möglich. Zudem stellt der bestehende Sicherheitsgurt eine Gefahr für Kinder dar, da sie ihn durch Drücken des Knopfes einfach lösen können. Dies sind Gründe genug, den Sicherheitsgurt nach 50 Jahren zu revolutionieren.

safetybelt

Development
Wir haben das ganze Sicherheitssystem im Automobil analysiert und grundlegend neu gedacht. Anhand eines Ist- und eines Ideal-Szenarios der Benutzung konnten wir eine ausführliche Anforderungsliste erstellen, woraus drei Lösungsansätze konzipiert wurden. Basierend auf einem Kriterienkatalog kristallisierte sich die optimale Lösung heraus, die wir schliesslich detailliert entwickelten. Nach unzähligen Formstudien erwies sich das Design des Mechanismus als entscheidendes Element beim Gestalten der Aussenform. Folglich arbeiteten wir zweispurig, von aussen und innen zueinander, bis wir das optimale Zusammenspiel erreichten. Unsere Idee funktionierte am Computermodell und schliesslich bestätigte der gedruckte Prototyp unseren Lösungsansatz. Let us save life – your life!

safetybelt safetybelt safetybelt safetybelt safetybelt
safetybelt
safetybelt
safetybelt

INDUSTRIAL DESIGN 2013 ZHDK